Ministry of Youth and Sports

The Ministry is made up of the following departments: Administration and Supplies, Finance and Accounts, Youth, Sports, and Rehabilitation with the following Units: Open Registry, Internal Audit, Information Unit, and Store.


To promote an enabling environment for a livelihood for Ekiti teeming Youth including Persons With Disability and through Sports to reduce unemployment.

Our Mission

To enhance the potentials of Ekiti Youth and Persons With Disabilities through Comprehensive programme on empowerment, and to promote restive youths by agendering – free self-employment, self-reliance, rehabilitation of Persons With Disability and encouraging Sports as a veritable means of livelihood.

The Ministry of Youth and Sports is saddled with the following responsibilities

  1. Identification of Youth in Sports.
  2. Develop Sports at the grassroot and as a veritable means of livelihood.
  3. Identify potentials in Youth, develop them and design programmes to serve as back-up.
  4. Implement empowerment programmes for the discovered potentials.
  5. Develop, train and re-train sports talents to represent the State at Local, National and International competitions.
  6. Provide opportunities for vocational training for the schooled and the unschooled.
  7. Youth toward self-employment and self reliance.
  8. Encourage active complementary roles of voluntary Youth organizations in Curbing youth restiveness in the State.
Name Designation Contact
Hon. Michael Awopetu Hon. Commissioner
Dr J.B. Adeyemo Permanent Secretary
Wole Faleye Director Administration & Supplies 08038378889
Ilesanmi Afere Director of Finance and Account 08035640902
Alex Adesanmi Adeoye Director Sports 08160637309
Alaba Alphred Kumolalo Director Youth.
Francis Olumide Jebooda Director Rehabilitation Services 08061582077
Name Designation Period
Dr. Rufus Ajayi Commissioner for Youth & Sports
Pastor Bade Adara Commissioner for Youth & Sports
Dr. Rufus Ajayi Commissioner for Youth & Sports
Mr Kayode Olaosebikan Commissioner for Youth & Sports