Ministry of Local Government and Community Development

The Ministry of Local Government and Community Development was created in May, 2005, when the former Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs Department was carved out of the Office of the Deputy Governor.  It has metamorphosed at different times with different names.  At the inception of John Kayode Fayemi-led administration in 2018, the Ministry’s name was changed to Ministry of Local Government and Community Development.  The office is located in the Old Governor’s Office, Ado-Ekiti.


Ensuring that the Local Government Areas in Ekiti State key into the agenda of the State Government.

Our Mission

To ensure a functional democratic structure of the Local Government and proper harmonization of management.

The Ministry is an Executive Branch created under the Executive fiat of the State Governor. It has metamorphosed at different times with different names and reports directly to the Governor and performs the following functions:

The Function of the Ministry include:-

  • The functions of the Ministry include:
    • Provision of guidelines for the operation of Local Governments as approved by the State Government;
    • Coordinating the activities of the Councils;
    • Serving as liaison office between the State-MDAs and Local Governments;
    • Secretariat for the Joint Account and Allocation of Funds Committee (JAAC);
    • Monitoring of capital projects of Local Governments;
    • Capacity development of political office holders in Local Governments;
    • Review of Local Government Medium Term Fiscal Framework (MTF) with a critical look at the re-occurring issues in Local Government Financial Administration;
    • Works on formation of Community Development Association, sensitizes and mobilizes communities on Community Development Associations;
    • Organizes Community Needs Assessment and projects selection in Communities of the State, holding meeting with CDAs, Community Leaders and Community-based Organisations;
    • Liaises with relevant Agencies to support Community Development activities and encourages communities on sustenance of completed Community and Government projects;

    Collaborates with NGOs on social development activities for socio-political development, give support on Town day celebrations in collaboration with Community-based Organisations (CBOs) for project development and showcasing Community cultural and Economic potential for external assistance.

Name Designation
Honorable State Commissioner
Mr Oluwadare J. Jolumo Permanent Secretary
Mrs. Kayode-Ojo, Oyeyemi Oyenike, MCIPM Director, Administration & Supplies
Mr. Ojo Ebenezer Babatope Director, Local Government Affairs
Mr. Olusola Isaac Segun Director, Community Development
Mr. Abiola Michael Oluremi Director, Finance & Accounts
Engr. Oludaisi Michael Rotimi Director, Planning, Research & Statistics
Hon. Olatunji Tayelolu SSA, Community Development
Name Duration
Dr. (Mrs) B. Modupe Alade 2nd August, 2005 – 18th July, 2007
Mr. Olalekan Aiyeleso 19th July, 2007 – 4th February, 2008
Mr. D. Adekunle Falope 5th February, 2008 – 5th April, 2009
Mr. V. O. A. Akomolafe 6th April, 2009 – 28th October, 2009
Mr. F. E. Daramola 29th October, 2009 – 5th January, 2011
Mrs. Adekunbi Obaisi 6th January, 2011 – 3rd November, 2011
Mr. Ayodeji Sunday Ajayi 4th November, 2011 – November, 2014
Mr. Yemi Owoseeni December, 2014 – August 2016
Mrs. M. Olapeju Babafemi 8th August – 16th September, 2016
Mr. Kayode G. Abe 16th September, 2016 – 28th August, 2017
Mr. Kunle John Olofin 28th August, 2017 – 22nd November, 2017
Mr. Vincent Omodara 1st February, 2018 – 14th December, 2018
Mr. Ayoola B. Owolabi 14th December, 2018 – 30th September, 2019
Mr. Sola Ogunmiluyi
Mr. Olusesan K. Alabi
Name Duration
Mr. F. B. Asana 2005 – 2006
Mr. Bamiteko Olatunji 2007 – 2009
Mr. Olufemi Ige 2009 – 2010
Chief Dayo Fadipe 2011 – 2012
Barr. Paul Omotoso 2012 – 2014
Barr. Kola Kolade 2015 – 2017
Mr. Ayodeji Alabi 2017 – 2018
Prof. Adio Afolayan 2018 – 2022

Comments are closed.