Ministry of Budget And Economic Planning

The Ministry of Budget and Economic Planning began as Ekiti State Planning Commission on 31st May, 1998 with an edict signed by the then Military Administrator, Lt. Col. M.I Bawa. However, the Commission became a full fledged Ministry and was re-named Ministry of Budget and Economic Planning in December, 2012.


To be the driving force of Ekiti State Economic Planning and Development


To ensure efficient and effective Policy Planning and implementation of programs and Projects that delivers Public value to Ekiti People.

The Ministry is divided into Finance and Account; Project Planning, Multilateral Relations, Project Monitoring and Budget Departments.

The Ministry also has the following Units operating within it:

  • Directorate of Administration and Supplies,
  • Finance and Accounts
  • Project Monitoring and Evaluation,
  • Project Planning, Research and Statistics
  • Budget
  • Multilateral Relations

The Core Function of the Ministry are:

  • Preparation of Annual Budget both Capital and Recurrent.
  • Quarterly Appraisal of Annual Budget.
  • Economic Development Programs.
  • Budget Monitoring.
  • Supporting Aggressive Revenue Generation.
  • Preparation of Development Plans.
  • Preparation of Medium Term Expenditure Framework.
  • Monitoring of Capital Projects and preparation of Annual Capital Projects Appraisal documents.
  • Evaluation of Capital Projects.
  • Facilitating /attracting Development partners to the State.
  • Adherence to lay down Rules and Regulations guiding the Civil Service.
  • Allocation and Management of available Resources within the Ministry.

Affiliated Agencies

  • Bureau of Statistics
  • New Partnership for African Development (NEPAD)
  • State Cash Transfer Unit
  • Youth Employment Social Support Operation

In continuation of its efforts at improving the Economy of Ekiti State, the Ministry is responsible for the following Projects and Programs:

  • YESSO activities are on-going with the main objective of Establishing the Single Register of poor and Vulnerable House-hold in the State. As at now, YESSO-SOCU Office has established Single Register for Six pilot LGAs: Ido-Osi, Ado, Aiyekire, Oye, Ekiti West and Ekiti South
  • Monitoring of State Government Capital Projects across the State
  • Annual Capital Projects Appraisal Report
  • Evaluation of State Government Capital Projects across the State
  • Processing of approvals for release of fund
  • Budgetary control for all votes in the Ministry
  • Preparation of Annual Appropriation in the Accounts
  • Preparation of wages and salaries with monthly reconciliation at Biometric Centre
  • Budget Automation Centre
  • International Public Sector Accounting standard (IPSAS) Compliance Budgeting Process
  • Conduct of Fiscal Survey
  • Public Expenditure Management Framework
Name Designation
Hon. Commissioner
Mr Olusesan Alabi Permanent Secretary
Mr. Otewogbola State Coordinator, YESSO
Mr. Adefolaju A. Director, Budget
Mr. Egunjobi M.A Director, Project Planning Department
Mr. D. B. Faniyan Director, Multilateral Relations Department
Mr. Ajayi P.O. Director, Project Monitoring and Evaluation Department
Mrs. Oyebola M.O Director, Administration & Supplies
Mrs. Adeleye E.A Director, Finance & Accounts
Name Designation Period
Mr Olajide Adebisi (JP) Permanent Secretary 2000 – 2003
Mr. Lanre Aribisala Permanent Secretary 2003 – 2007
Mrs Taiye Ajibade Executive Secretary 2007 – 2008
Mr Leye Fagbemi Executive Secretary 2008 – 2009
Mr. S.I.Folorunso Permanent Secretary 2011 to date
Mr Biodun Oyebanji Hon. Commissioner 2010 to 2014
Hon. Femi Ajayi Hon. Commissioner

Comments are closed.