Government of Ekiti State, Nigeria.

Board For Technical And Vocational Education

Technical Education in Ekiti State can simply be traced back to 1964 when the Roman Catholic Church, a Christian religious organization established St. Theresa’s Technical School, Ado-Ekiti. It was one of the mission schools taken over by the old Western State in 1975. The school metamorphosed to Government Trade Center in 1978 the only one in Ekiti then. When Ondo State was created in 1979, the school was then re-named Government Technical College, Ado-Ekiti, it started with two courses; that is Cabinet making (now known as furniture making) and Electrical Installations.
In September, 1977, Government Technical Colleges were established in Otun, Ijero, Ikole and Iluomoba as secondary Technical Schools but later translated to Technical Colleges. In 1986 Ondo State Government closed Ikole, Ijero, Igbara Odo and Iluomoba Colleges, but in 1993 re-opened Ijero and Ikole. InOctober, 2012 GTC Iluomoba and Ijero were to be converted into Life Academy and that made GTC Iluomoba to be faced out.
The supervision and management of the Technical Colleges were initially put under the Department of Science Technical and Mathematics of the State Ministry of Education, until 1998 when the Military Administration, Navy Captain Atanda Yussuf established the Board for Technical and Vocational Education. The Board took off having Mr G.A. Olowoyo (now late) as the pioneering Executive Secretary while Mr Deji Ajayi the present Head of Service was the Director of Finance and Administration (DFA).

Vision Statement:

To provide innovative Technical and Vocational Education that meets the needs of global economy by equipping citizens with relevant knowledge and skills for higher academic growth, self-reliance and entrepreneurship.

Mission Statement

To provide leadership at ensuring quality and stimulating innovation in Technical Education Sector in the state, through vigorous pursuit of academic excellence, intensive practical exposure and partnership with relevant private organizations.

The Board is divided into six departments, they are:

  1. Admin and Supply
  2. Finance and Accounts
  3. Programme
  4. Corporate Affairs
  5. Planning, Research & Statistics
  6. Evaluation & Standard

The Board has the mandate to perform the following functions:

  1. To manage the affairs of Technical Colleges and Vocational Centers in the State.
  2. To establish partnership with relevant entrepreneurs, industries, and private sectors for students’ internship Trainings and possible employment opportunities.
  3. To ensure that all policies on Technical Colleges and Vocational Education given by the Federal and State Government are fully implemented.
  4. To appoint (where applicable promote transfer, discipline and implement other conditions of service and emoluments for all categories of staff of the Board as applicable in other arms of the public service in the state.
  5. To prepare salaries and allowances for the staff and ensure payment.
  6. To acquire materials, furniture and other properties required for the purpose of the Board and maintain any premises forming part of the Board.
  7. To engage in such other trades/vocations/activities that are capable of boosting the ventures of Technical Colleges and Vocational Centres.
  8. To perform such other functions as may be assigned to the Board by the Commissioner for Education and the Governor of the State.
  9. To conduct the Federal Craft and Trade Test Examinations for year 3 students and entrance examination for the new intakes.
  10. To inspect the facilities of proposed Private Technical/Vocational Institutions and process their approvals.
  11. For the purpose of quality control, the Board is empowered to register, supervise and monitor teaching and learning activities in all the Technical and Vocational Institutions in the state including the Private Vocational Centers.
  12. For the purpose of quality control, the Board is empowered to register, supervise and monitor teaching and learning activities in all the Technical and Vocational Institutions in the state including the Private Vocational Centers.
  13. The Board is equally empowered to engage in production activities and partnership with relevant organizations.
  14. The Board is equally empowered to engage in the following operation of activities:
    (a) Production Units
    (b) Partnership

The rapid industrial development of the state as part of the 4 point agenda of the present government as epitomized in the various Technical and Vocational Programmes.

Board Members

S/N Name Designation Gender
2 Hon. Idowu Ayegbe Member  Male
3 Hon. Bayo Akerele Member  Male
4 Hon. Yetunde Adamu Member  Female

Management Team

S/N Name Designation Gender
2 Dr. (Mrs) FoluAyeleso Executive Secretary Female
3 Mr. Awoleye Gabriel S. Director, Evaluation & Standards Male
4 Mrs. Bamisaye F. Y. Director, Corporate Affairs & Technology Female
5 Mr. Oguntunji T.B. Director, Planning, Research & Statistics Male
6 Dr. Ajayi B. B. Director Programs Male
7 Mr. Olowoyo S. K. Director, Admin & Supply Male
8 Mr Adeosun Olakunle Director ,Finance & Accounts Male
9 Dr.Adewale Emmanuel Principal, GTC, Ado-Ekiti Male
10 Mr. Olatunji M.O. Principal GTC, Ikole-Ekiti Male
11 Mr Musa A. Principal GTC, Otun-Ekiti Male
12 Mr. Adaramodu R.O. Principal GTC, Igbara-Odo Male
13 Mr Bello Badru Principal GTC, Ijero-Ekiti Male
S/N Name Date Gender Tenure
1 Mr. G.A. Olowoyo (Late) 1996 – 1997 Male 1 year
2 Mr A.O. Ibitoba 1997 – 1999 Male 2 years
3 Mr. G.O. Oni  (Late) 1999 – 2002 Male 3 years
4 Mr. Olowoyo 2002 – 2004 Male 2 years
5 Mr. G. O. Adaran 2004 – 2007 Male 3 years
6 Mr. A. A. Ojo (Late) 2007 – 2008 Male 1 year
7 Mrs. A. F. Arabi 2008 – 2011 Female 3 years
8 Dr. (Mrs) E.A. Dada 2011 – 2012 Female 1 year
9 Mr. B.O. Jegede 2012 – 2015 Male 3 years
10 Mrs. G.I. Fadipe (Late) 2015 – 2016 Female 1 year
11 Mrs. B.F. Adeyemi 2016 – 2017 Female 1 year
12 Mrs. A.I. Akeredolu 2017 – 2018 Female 1 year
13 Dr. (Mrs) Folu Ayeleso 2018 till date Female ———-

Comments are closed.