17 year -old Lad Bags Ekiti State Merit Award

December 4, 2013

Prof. Niyi Osundare

A 17 year-old school leaver, Master Joshua Olamiju is among outstanding Nigerians to be presented the 2013 Ekiti State Merit Award at a colourful ceremony in Ado-Ekiti on Thursday.

Olamiju who is being honoured in the Youth Scholarship category of the Ekiti State Merit Award, has the best overall result in the state in the just released West African School Certificate Examination (WASCE). He was the Senior Prefect of Ikere High School, Ikere –Ekiti, where he sat for the exams and made nine distinctions.

Olamiju will be sharing the stage with other renowned Nigerians who have made significant contributions to the society in their different areas of endeavour at the event billed to hold at the Jibowu hall, Government House  Complex, Ado-Ekiti.

Other distinguished Nigerians billed to be honoured at the event include literary giant and award –winning poet, Prof Niyi Osundare; first female Plant Nematologist in Africa and former Acting Vice Chancellor of the University of Ado-Ekiti (now Ekiti State University), Prof Olufunke Egunjobi; and an elder statesman and banker, Chief Bandele  Falegan.

Also to be honoured are a former scribe of the Yoruba Council of Elders (YCE), Dr Kunle Olajide; retired Anglican Bishop, Rt. Revd Peter Adebiyi ; an octogenarian and successful businessman, Chief Daniel Okoli;  a renowned medical practitioner, Dr Sanya Olurotimi and popular Radio Presenter, Chief Akinlade Oko (a.k.a. Erugale).

A celebrated Teacher and one time President, All- Nigeria Conference of Principals of Secondary Schools (ANCOPPS), Elder Enoch Dare; a renowned researcher in Sickle Cell disease, Prof Adeyinka Falusi; and a renowned broadcaster, Madam Christianah Ademulegun (a.k.a Iya Opitan) and another 17 year old, Miss Olayemi Ajayi are among those to be honoured.

The late Prof Daniel Funmilayo Ojo; Chief Ojo Ajoyemi Ajibola and Chief James Kolawole (JK Furniture) are to be given post humous award in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the society.

The Chairman of the Planning Committee and Commissioner for Special Duties, Chief Apalara Wole-Adewunmi, said the annual award which will be hosted by the state Governor, Dr Kayode Fayemi is to recognise excellence, for which the state Ekiti is reputed.

Last modified: December 4, 2013

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *