Ekiti State Govt Grants Autonomy To Five Communities

January 11, 2013

Ekiti State government has granted autonomy to five communities in the state, following the completion of various judicial processes and subsequent approval of their requests by the relevant authorities including the state House of Assembly and the executive council.

The communities are:

i)                   Ejiyan ( from Ipoti Ekiti, Ijero Local Government)

ii)                Orun  (From Igbemo Ekiti, Irepo/Ifelodun Local Government)

iii)              Omuo Oke ( from Omuo Ekiti, Ekiti-East Local Government)

iv)              Kota (From Omuo- Ekiti, Ekiti East Local Government )

v)                Ijaro (From Iludun-Ekiti, Ilejemeje Local Government)

By the recognition, the five communities would now enjoy the status of  autonomous communities, with recognised leadership structure, in line with the laws of the state.

The government urged the citizens of the affected communities and the state in general to continue to maintain the path of peace.


Last modified: January 11, 2013

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *