Fayemi, Four Other Govs Nominated For Telecoms Awards

August 23, 2012

Ekiti State Governor, Dr Kayode Fayemi

The Nigerian Telecoms Awards has released performance list of its evaluation exercise on Governors that are technology savvy and are compliant with Information and Communications Technology (ICT) in service delivery.

The online result shows that five governors were already winning in the selection process. They include Governor Rauf Aregbesola of Osun State, Governor Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti State, Governor Godswill Akpabio of Akwa Ibom State, Governor Liyel Imoke of Cross River State, and Governor Adams Oshiomole of Edo State.

The aim of the assessment, according to Logica Media Group, organisers of the award, is to support the Federal Government’s vision of entrenching ICT penetration.

“We are aligning with the vision of government, which was stressed at the last year’s telecoms awards ceremony by the Minister of Communications Technology, Mrs. Omobola Johnson, who in her speech said that every
sector of the telecoms industry shall have the responsibility to ensuring that the objectives of the federal government was achieved,” the group said.
Secretary-General of the Board of Trustees of Nigerian Telecoms Awards, Biodun Ajiboye, said: “The purpose for the evaluation was to ensure that government is assisted in its vision and interest.”

The evaluation criteria of the 2012 Awards, according to Ajiboye, considered four categories.

They include ICT Governor of the year, Telecoms Development State of the year, ICT State Government of the year, and Telecoms Supporting State of the year.

Governors contested for the various categories, based on the online nominations that were judged on the number of ICT jobs created, and their vision for their states.

Governors nominated included Dr. Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti State, Rauf Aregbesola of Osun State, Dr. Olusegun Mimiko of Ondo State, Governor Wamako of sokoto, Governor Liyel imoke of Cross River, Governor Godswill Akpabio of Akwa Ibom State, and Governor Adams Oshomole. They were massively nominated through online voting.

The selection process for the emergence of winners in various categories is ongoing.

The Governors were selected on the strength of their ICT performance in their various states.


By Emma Okonji

This article was first published in This Day on 23 August, 2012.

Last modified: August 23, 2012

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *