Fayemi Charges Newly Reconstituted Commissions On Transformation Strategy

January 5, 2013

L-R: Chairman, Ekiti State Local Government Service Commission (LGSC), Chief Ranti Adebisi; Speaker, House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. (Dr.) Adewale Ominrin; Secretary to State Government, Alhaji (Dr) Ganiyu Owolabi; Chairman, Ekiti State House of Assembly Service Commission(EKHSC), Chief Judge Ojo; and Board Member, Princess Omotunde Adelabu, during the Swearing-in Ceremony of LGSC and EKHSC Boards, in Ado Ekiti.

Ekiti State Governor, Dr Kayode Fayemi has inaugurated chairmen and members of two newly reconstituted Commissions, with a charge to key into the Civil Service Transformation Strategy aimed at delivering dividends of democracy to the people.

The two commissions are the State House of Assembly Service Commission and the Local Government Service Commission which had their chairmen and some of the members removed late last year.

Inaugurating the Commissions in Ado Ekiti on Thursday, the Governor said that the reconstitution of the Commissions became imperative following the strategic role they play in the service delivery mechanism of government at the grassroot and the legislative arm of government.

Dr. Fayemi who was represented by the Secretary to the State Government, Alhaji Ganiyu Owolabi, added that the gesture was also important in re-shapening the leadership of the Commissions for effective discharge of their statutory responsibilities.

He assured that his administration would continue to exploit all available avenue for the socio-economic development of the State.

While emphasizing the need for the appointees to key into the Strategy document, the Governor said government has been vigorously implementing the Civil Service Transformation Strategy in order to ensure more efficient service delivery.

Fayemi stressed that government would continue to support the workforce for optimal and productive performance, even as he added that the workers are already rightly positioned to drive the policies and programmes of government for the masses.

He urged the members of the Commissions not to betray the trust reposed in them by the people whom they are out to serve.

Speaking on behalf of the appointees, former Gubernatorial aspirant of the defunct Alliance for Democracy(AD) in 2003, Chief Ranti Adebisi who is the Chairman of the reconstituted Local Government Service Commission thanked the Government for the opportunity given them to serve; saying that the Commissions would work for the development of the State.

Adebisi who described the workers in the Local Government Service as his “brothers and sisters” promised to run the Commission in partnership with leadership of the Nigerian Union of Local Government Employees(NULGE) and keep the people abreast of government’s activities.

The House of Assembly Service Commission which is chaired by Chief George Ojo has Hon Bayo Akinola,  Hon Olaiya Kupolati, Hon Foluso Ibirinde and Chief Samuel Abejide as members while the Local Government Service Commission is chaired by Chief Ranti Adebisi, with Chief Reuben Akomolafe,   Princess Omotunde Adelabu, Mr Babalola Olorunfemi (NULGE Nominee),  Mrs. Dupe Bakare,  Hon Kola Fakiyesi,  Chief Jacob O. Adewumi as members.

Last modified: January 5, 2013

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *