Ekiti State Honours Late Aluko, Omoboriowo

December 17, 2012

Twenty indigenes of Ekiti State with outstanding records of performance in their various fields, including Mr. Rotimi Babatunde , winner of  the 2012 Caine Prize for African Writing and Capt Bolaji Agbelusi, first female pilot to fly an aircraft in the country, will be honoured, at the 2012 Ekiti State Merit Award ceremony in Ado-Ekiti, on Thursday.

The honouree list also include former Deputy Governor of the Old Ondo State, the late Chief Akin Omoboriowo and renowned Economist, the late Prof Sam Aluko, who would be given post humous award in recognition of their contributions to the state.

According to a statement by the Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, Mr Olayinka Oyebode, the event which has the theme: “Rewarding Excellence”, would be hosted by the Ekiti State Governor, Dr Kayode Fayemi.

The first military Administrator of the state, Col. Inua Bawa (rtd); the first Head of Service, Mr J.A. Ibidunmoye, Wife of the first Civilian Governor of the state, Erelu Angela Adebayo and Mr Joshua Ologunde, the composer of the Ekiti State anthem, are also billed to be honoured in the different categories of the award, which was instituted to recognize and reward excellence.

Others include Prof Omotayo Olutoye, first female professor of Yoruba Studies in the world and several other citizens who have also distinguished themselves in academia, arts, culture, medicine, administration, pottery and traditional mat weaving, among others.

The event comes up at Jibowu Hall, Government House by 5pm.

Last modified: December 17, 2012

2 Responses to " Ekiti State Honours Late Aluko, Omoboriowo "

  1. slot online says:

    … [Trackback]

    […] Find More here to that Topic: ekitistate.gov.ng/ekiti-state-honours-late-aluko-omoboriowo/ […]

  2. … [Trackback]

    […] Find More Information here to that Topic: ekitistate.gov.ng/ekiti-state-honours-late-aluko-omoboriowo/ […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *