Government of Ekiti State, Nigeria.

Four Additional LGAs To Benefit From MDG’s Conditional Grant Scheme

December 3, 2012

The fight against poverty recently received a boost in Ekiti State with the Federal Government’s approval for selection of four additional Local Government Areas (LGAS) in the state as beneficiaries
of the 2012 Millennium Development Goals-Conditional Grant Scheme (MDGs-CGS).

The State Commissioner for Integration and Inter-governmental Affairs, Mrs. Bunmi Dipo-Salami who made this known in Ado Ekiti during a meeting with officials of the concerned local governments, said the approval which was communicated through the office of the Senior Special Assistant to the President on MDGs (OSSAP) was to fast track development and attain a poverty free state which is the primary vision of the MDGs.

Highlighting the names of the additional LGAs benefiting from the scheme as Oye, Ekiti West, Ekiti South West and Efon, Mrs. Dipo-Salami explained that the selection was based on the Poverty Index document arising from the Baseline Facility Inventory and the Needs Assessment carried out in the state earlier in the year by the Office of the Special Assistant to the President on MDGs (OSSAP).
It could be recalled that Ikole, Ekiti East and Ijero LGAs benefitted in 2011 MDGs project.

Responding, the representative of the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Local Government Affairs, Mr. Sola Ogunmiluyi expressed satisfaction over the selection of the four LGAs and promised to ensure proper monitoring of each LGAs counterpart fund to enhance quick payment.
In his remarks, the Chairman of Efon Local Government, Dr. Adio Folayan who spoke on behalf of the other LG Chairmen, pledged to cooperate with the State Government to ensure the success of the

Last modified: December 3, 2012

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *