Ekiti Honours African Youngest PhD holder, 28 Others

September 30, 2014

African Youngest PhD degree holder, Dr Hallowed Oluwadara Olaoluwa, is among 29 distinguished Ekiti sons and daughters that would be honoured with the state’s merit award in the 2014 edition of the annual event billed for Ado-Ekiti on Wednesday, October 1, 2014.

The Ekiti State born Dr Olaoluwa stormed the academic world earlier in the year when he bagged his PhD in Mathematics from the University of Lagos at the age of 24 years old, considered the youngest ever in the Continent. He will be receiving the award in the academic and research category.

According to a statement by the Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, Mr Olayinka Oyebode, this year’s merit award would hold at the Ekiti Parapo Square which will be  commissioned same day.

Other distinguished Ekitis to be honoured include the first Nigerian Professor of Mathematics, the late Prof  Adegoke Olubunmo and foremost Historian the late  Emeritus Professor Jacob Ade-Ajayi who would be awarded post humously. Chief Elemure Ogunyemi, who recently passed on would also receive a post humous award.

Also on the list are Chief Elizabeth Adegbite, a former President of the Institute of Chartered  Accountants of Nigeria (ICAN; Ace musician Yinka Ayefele, Mrs Emily Olaboye , a respected mat weaver and Mr Jude Michael Osagwu, who won the  Best Teacher in Nigeria Award in 2013.

The State Commissioner for Special Duties, Mr Apalara Wole –Adewunmi who is chairman of the planning Committee said the award is to recognise excellence among citizens and residents of the state who have distinguished themselves in different ways.

Last modified: September 30, 2014

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *