Fayemi Inaugurates Councils Transition Committees

August 5, 2014

Ekiti State Governor, Dr Kayode Fayemi; former Governor of Bayelsa State, Chief Timipre Sylva; and Secretary to Ekiti State Governor, Alhaji Ganiyu Owolabi, during the inauguration of new Local Council Development Areas, LCDA, Ado-Ekiti.

Ekiti State Governor, Dr. Kayode Fayemi has sworn in Chairmen of caretaker committees for the 16 existing local governments and 19 newly created Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) in the State, with a charge that the new council bosses should deliver diligent and honourable service to the people.

Inaugurating the Chairmen in Ado- Ekiti on Tuesday, the Governor said they were carefully chosen not only on account of their competence but also their closeness to the grassroots whose yearnings they are expected to meet.

Governor  Fayemi who reminded the new council leaders that they would be held accountable by God and the people urged them to ensure equity and justice in managing the interests of all stakeholders as they “build consensus in the participatory governance” of their respective councils.

“I have no doubt that going by the pedigree of the leaders being sworn in today; there will be accelerated progress in meeting the needs of our people at the grassroots. These are leaders carefully chosen not only on account of their competence but also their closeness to the
grassroots. I therefore charge you all to live up to expectations of our people in serving them with all diligence and honour. Above all, remember that all power belongs to God and to Him shall we all ultimately give account”, he said.

While speaking on the creation of the LCDAs, the Governor stated that it became expedient for his administration to take necessary legal steps towards meeting the “long and persistent clamour of our people for the creation of new local governments”.

Fayemi added that concerted efforts were put in place and executed by well meaning Ekiti personalities who carried along all stakeholders in the affected council areas before the communities finally agreed on the outcomes that birthed the Council Development Areas.

He said that the LCDAs chairmen would be playing a pioneering role in the establishment of structures and processes as well as programmes and policies that will drive the dividends of good governance closer to the grassroots.

Speaking on behalf of the new council bosses, the caretaker Chairperson of Ado West LCDA, Mrs Omotunde Fajuyi pledged unflinching loyalty to the people whom they were appointed to serve; saying that the Fayemi-led administration had shown example of good governance which needed to be carried to the grassroots. Fajuyi also promised that the new council bosses would not let down the Fayemi-led administration but will justify the confidence reposed in them.

At the well attended event were the Deputy Governor of the State, Prof. Modupe Adelabu, the former Governor of Bayelsa State, Chief Timipre Sylva, Speaker of Ekiti State House of Assembly, Dr Adewale Omirin, members of the State House of Assembly, members of the State Executive Council, Chairman of the State Chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Chief Jide Awe and other members of his executive council, traditional rulers and well wishers.

The Council chairmen are Hon. Tope Olanipekun( Ado), Mrs Omotunde Fajuyi (Ado West LCDA), Hon. Sunday Ibitoye (Ado North LCDA), Mr Raheem Balogun (Ado Central LCDA), Mr Richard Apolola (Ekiti South West), Mr Ayodeji Olaniyi (Igbara Odo/Ogotun LCDA), Hon. Tope Alonge (Oye), Hon. Olumide Adeyanju (Ifeloju LCDA), Hon. Adeyeye Bolaji (Ifesowapo LCDA), Mr Dipo Ogunleye (Efon), Hon. Tope Ogunleye (Ilejemeje), Mr Aribasoye Adeoye (Ajoni LCDA), Hon. Akinwale Alebiosu (Ero LCDA), Hon. Sina Ogunleye (Ifedara LCDA) and Kareem Agunbiade (Ekiti West).

Others are Ayodeji Ajayi (Ise/Orun), Hon Febisola Adewale (Emure), Olunide Fadipe (Isokan LCDA), Hon. Ojo Atibioke (Irewolede LCDA), Mrs Remi Balogun (Irede LCDA), Chief Dayo Ajayi (Ijero), Azeez Awolokun (Irepodun/ Ifelodun), Hon. Gbenga Omole (Ikere West LCDA), Hon. Femi Ayodele (Ikere), Rotimi Afolabi (Ido/Osi0, Bayo Akrerele (Araromi LCDA), Damilare Ajayi (Aiyekire), Sunkanmi Onipede (Moba), Hon. Rotimi Ajidara (Ekiti East), Fadumiye Ayodele (Ayedire), Lateef Akanle (Ekiti
South East LCDA), Olatiboye Titus (Okemesi/Ido IleLCDA), Joshua Ayorinde (Eka Meta LCDA), Razak Aladetuyi (Ikole) and Kayode Ogunsakin (Ikole West).

Last modified: November 24, 2021

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *