Ekiti To Create Additional 18 Council Development Areas

June 26, 2014

Ekiti State Government is set to create additional 18 Council Development Areas based on the recommendations of the White Paper Committee set up by the government.

The new council areas are to be created from the existing 16 local government areas of the state after the conduct of a referendum by the State Independent Electoral Commission (SIEC) and consideration of the outcome of the referendum by the Ekiti State House of Assembly.

In a statement by the Commissioner for Information and Civic Orientation, Mr Tayo Ekundayo, the 18 new council areas are to operate as Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) pending the concurrence of the National Assembly, which would accord them the status of full fledged local government councils.

The new councils and their proposed headquarters as contained in the White Paper and approved by the State Executive Council are as follows:

i)                     Ado West Local Council Development Area-   Okesha

ii)                   Ado-North LCDA———————————  Oke –Ila

iii)                  Ado-Central LCDA——————————– Ijigbo

iv)                 Ekiti North-East LCDA————————— Kota- Ekiti

v)                   Ogotun/Igbaraodo LCDA————————- Oke- Agbe

vi)                 Osi/Isokan LCDA ——————————— Ifaki

vii)                Eka Meta LCDA———————————– Erijiyan- Ekiti

viii)              Okemesi/Ido Ile LCDA————————— Okemesi – Ekiti

ix)                Aiyekire LCDA———————————— Aisegba

x)                   Irewolede LCDA——————————— Iloro- Ekiti

xi)                 Irede LCDA————————————— Ipoti-Ekiti

xii)                Ikere West  LCDA——————————- Anaye

xiii)              Ajoni LCDA————————————– Aiyedun

xiv)              Ifelodun LCDA———————————– Igbemo –Ekiti

xv)               Araromi LCDA———————————– Iyin –Ekiti

xvi)              Ero LCDA—————————————– Igogo

xvii)            Ifesowapo LCDA——————————– Bamisile Land

xviii)           Ifeloju LCDA————————————- Ilupeju- Ekiti


Mr. Tayo Ekundayo

Hon Commissioner for Information and Civic Orientation

Last modified: November 24, 2021

One Response to " Ekiti To Create Additional 18 Council Development Areas "

  1. Oluwatosin says:

    We will be grateful if it comes to Ilupeju

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *