Guidelines For Permanent Voter Card Distribution

March 4, 2014

Guidelines made pursuant to section 16 of the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended).
Issuance of voters’ Cards is the responsibility of the Independent National Electoral Commission. The proprietary right in the voters’ cards is vested in INEC.

• Smart card-based Voter ID;

• Stores voter’s information such as bio-data, biometrics and facial image;

• The card technology provides adequate security features to reduce vulnerability to counterfeiting

• The PVC shall be used for identification and authentication of voters during elections

A person is eligible to collect PVC if he/she:-

(a) has registered before

(b) is in the register of voters displayed.

(c) has a temporary voter card (TVC)

(d) has lost his/her TVC but his/her identity can be confirmed.

(e) Is physically present at the collection centre. There shall be no collection of PVC by proxy.
(i) PVC distribution will be at the Polling Unit.

(ii) Those who are unable to collect their PVC during the specified period shall, therefore, collect theirs from the INEC office in the LGA.

The PVC distribution will take place at designated venues between the hours of 8.00am to 4.00pm for the specified period.
6.0 Guidelines for the distribution of PVC
6.1 The Electoral Officer

The Electoral Officer shall be in charge of the Local Government Area and shall coordinate all the activities in the local government area, with the assistance of the Assistant Electoral Officer(s) (AEO).

  • The Electoral Officer shall ensure that:
  • The PVCs are arranged according to their RA and polling units.
  • The PVCs are arranged in alphabetical order.
  • Each distribution center /polling unit is manned by the Distribution Officer (DO).
  • DOs should be competent in handling questions concerning the pre-CVR display.

6.2 The Supervisory Distribution Officer / (SDO)

The SDO shall manage a registration area and all the polling units within the registration area, supervises the distribution officers and also performs the following tasks:

  • Collects the PVCs by RA/polling units at the LGA office
  • He/She makes sure there are PVC cards for all PUs in his/her RA.
  • Signs for the collection of these cards.
  • Distributes PVC cards to the DOs.
  • Distributes daily distribution report forms to the DOs.
  • Distributes Electronic Voter Register (EVR) for display to the DOs.
  • Distributes Electronic Voter Register (EVR) for distribution to DOs.
  • Goes round the PUs to ensure:

– that the Electronic Voter Register (EVR) is displayed

– that the DOs are working

– that the distribution is going on as scheduled and planned.

  • Collects the daily report forms at the end of the day.
  •  Ensures the security of all materials collected.
  • Submits the daily report forms at the end of the day to the Electoral Officer.
  • Retrieves all materials from the DOs at the end of the exercise.
  • Returns all materials to the L.G.A at the end of the exercise.
  • Provides technical support to the DOs.
  • Reports all activities at the RA to the E.O.

6.3 Distribution Officer   

  • This officer takes custody of the PVC cards
  • Pastes the register of voters for display at the PU and makes sure it is on display for the period of the distribution.
  • Checks and confirms that the prospective voter is in the distribution register of voters.
  • If the name of the prospective voter is found on the distribution register of voters, he/she shall search through the PVC cards for his/her PVC.
  • He/she requests prospective voter to thumbprint and sign the PVC collection section of the distribution register of voters.
  • Retrieves the TVC from the prospective voter and hands over to prospective voter his/her PVC
  • Where the prospective voter does not have a TVC, the prospective voter is made to sign an attestation form and affix his/her passport photograph.
  • If the prospective voter is suspected to be under-age, his/her PVC shall be retained at the LGA office.
  • Makes sure that the retrieved TVCs are properly stored and secure in the bag provided.
  • At the end of each day he/she will make sure that the number of PVCs signed for equals the number of PVCs he/she has handed over to prospective voters.
  • Completes the card issuance daily report and makes sure that the report tally


6.4 Security Agents

A Security Agent is any person duly assigned to a polling unit from the Nigerian Police Force (NPF) or Nigeria Security and Civil Defense Corps (NSCDC) or any other Security Agency mandated to enforce and maintain law and order throughout the exercise.

(i) There shall be only one security agent assigned to each PU (unless a security assessment recommends more than one)
(ii) The security agent assigned shall be responsible for security, law and order at the PU
(iii)  He/she shall be responsible for security and protection of the Distribution officer, materials and equipment at the PU.


Prof.  Attahiru M. Jega, OFR






 1 Notice of Election 3rd March Section 30(1) of the Electoral Act 2010 provides not later than 90 days before the election.
 2 Commencement of Campaign by political parties 23rd March Section 99(1) of the Electoral Act 2010 provides not later than 90 polling days.
 3 Collection of forms for the election by political parties at INEC Headquarters 1st April To enable political parties to submit names of their candidates in a prescribed format
 4 Last date for conduct of party primaries including resolution of disputes arising from the primaries 14th April To enable political parties democratically nominate candidates for the election as required by section 87 of the Electoral Act 2010
 5 Last day of the submission of forms CF001 and CF002 at the INEC Headquarters 21st April Section 31(1) of the Electoral Act 2010 provides not later than 60 days before the election
 6 Publication of particulars of candidates (CF001) 26th April Section 31(3) of the Electoral Act 2010 provides for publication within 7 days of the receipt of the form CF 0001
 7 Last day for withdrawal by candidate(s)/replacement of withdrawn candidates by political parties 7th May Section 35(1) of the Electoral Act provides not later than 45 days to the election
 8 Last day for the submission of nomination forms by political parties 20th May To enable political parties comply with Section 32(1) of the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended)
 9 Publication of official register of voters for the election 20th May Section 20 of the Electoral Act provides not later than 30 days before the election
 10 Publication of list of nominated candidates 20th May Section 34 of the Electoral Act 2010 provides at least 30 days before the election
 11 Publication of notice of poll 4th June Section 46 of the Electoral Act 2010 provides not later than 14 days before the election
 12 Submission of names of party agents for the election to the Electoral Officer of the LGA 5th June Section 45 of the Electoral Act 2010 provides not later than 7 days before the election
 13 Last day of Campaigns 19th June Section 99(1) of the Electoral Act 2010 prohibits advertisement or broadcasts of campaigns 24 hours prior to the day of election
 14 Date of election 21st June Section 25 of the Electoral Act 2010, dates of election to be appointed by the Commission

NOTE: Run-off election to the office of Governor of a State (if any) will be held within 7 days after the announcement of the result in accordance with Section 179 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 (as amended)

Last modified: March 4, 2014

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *