Fayemi Commences 37 Projects Abandoned By Fayose

June 22, 2019

Ekiti State Government has commenced 37 projects under Grants-in-Aid Programme initiated by Governor Kayode Fayemi during his first tenure but abandoned by his successor.

The projects include extension of electricity, construction of community halls, construction of culverts and construction of market stalls. Other ongoing projects in the scheme are construction of boreholes, police posts, museum, blocks of classroom and drainages.

Speaking while monitoring the projects, the State Commissioner for Local Government and Community Development, Prof. Adio Folayan, reiterated the commitment of the Fayemi-led administration to ensuring the completion of the projects to improve the the welfare of the Ekiti people. Prof. Folayan recalled that Governor Fayemi started 177 projects and completed 87 of them under the scheme during his first term, adding that unfortunately his successor abandoned the laudable scheme.

The Commissioner said that the ongoing 37 projects were being executed under the Ekiti State Community and Social Development Agency (EKCDA) and the World Bank Scheme in collaboration with the State Government. He charged the benefiting Communities to justify the huge investment toward improving their lot by supporting the effort of government to develop the state. Prof. Folayan who also advised them to maintain and jealously guard the projects promised more of the State Government’s dividend of democracy in communities across the state.

Responding on behalf of the other communities, one of the community leaders at Eda-Ile, Mr. Adekunle Jejelowo who commended Governor Fayemi for revisiting those projects as he promised during his electoral campaign said the communities will monitor the projects. He thanked him and prayed for his successful tenure in office. Some
of these projects include Extension of Electricity at Omuo-Ekiti, Drainage and Culvert Construction at Awajin, in Ado-Ekiti, Market Stalls in Esunmo Community, and Borehole Projects at Igbogun Bolorunduro Community. Others are Civic Center at Orun-Ekiti, a Block of Three Classrooms each at Ejiyan-Ekiti and Ikunri-Ekiti in Ijero and Ikole Local Government Areas respectively, among others. Other benefiting communities are Kota in Ekiti East Local Government, Ara in Ijero Local Government, Erekesan Community in Efon Local Government Area, Temidire in Ise/Orun Local Government Area, Kajola in Ikere Local Government Area, Iro-Ayeteju in Gbonyin Local Government Area among others.

Last modified: June 22, 2019

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *