Government of Ekiti State, Nigeria.

Ministry of Regional Development and Intergovernmental Affairs

The Ministry of Regional Development and Inter-Governmental Affairs was carved out of the Department of Political and Integration of the Governor’s office in April, 2019.  Up till August, 2023 when the administration of His Excellency, Governor Biodun Abayomi Oyebanji restructured the Ministries, Department and Agencies (MDAs), the Ministry was known as Ministry of Regional Development and Special Duties.  It was the restructuring of the MDAs that bifurcated the Ministry, hence Special Duties Department was made a Ministry while Department of Inter-governmental Affairs was added to the Ministry.  The Ministry is now known as Ministry of Regional Development and Intergovernmental Affairs.

To develop appropriate strategies that will enhance good governance, engender regional development and connect Ekiti both at home and in the Diaspora with the development agenda of Ekiti State Government.

  • Harmonize government policies with a view to rendering the best service delivery.
  • Effective interface between the government and relevant stakeholders.

The Ministry has four (4) major Departments and one Unit, namely:

(a)      Department of Administration and Supplies

(b)      Department of Regional Development

(c)      Department of Inter-Governmental Affairs

(d)      Department of Finance and Accounts

(e)      Audit Unit.

The activities of the Ministry can be divided into two (2) major categories namely:


These are the routine activities which are usually performed by all Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs) such activities are generally performed by the Department of Administration and Supplies, Finance and Accounts etc.


These are Regional Development and Intergovernmental activities.

  1. To create avenue for a responsive governmental citizen platform thereby promoting good governance.
  2. To coordinate technical assistance programmes and liaise with appropriate Federal Government Agencies and with indigenes in the Diaspora.
  3. To create a data base for areas of economic co-operation through research and contact with South West States.
  4. To prepare and coordinates as may be directed, the South-West Governor’s forum based on the State Governor’s directive.


Name Designation
Dr. Kareem Makanjuola Akande Honorable Commissioner
Mr.Olatunji Moses Ogunlola SSA, Regional Development
Mr. Soji Fajuyi SSA, Regional Development & Intergovernmental Affairs


Name Designation
Mr. Olawale Olaleye Permanent Secretary


Name Designation
Mr. Oreyomi Ayodeji Oluwaseun Director, Regional Development & Inter-governmental Affairs
Mr. Onipede Olufemi Akinwumi Director of Administration and Supplies
Mrs. Olayiwola Bolanele Ruth Director of Finance and Account

Political Heads

Name Designation Period
Mr. Biodun Abayomi Oyebanji Hon. Commissioner 23rd Dec, 2010 – Dec, 2011
Alhaji Ayoodele Jinadu Hon. Commissioner 2018 – 2022

Permanent Secretaries / Executive Secretaries

Name Designation Period
Mrs. O.A. Akindele Permanent Secretary May 2019 – June, 2020
Mr. Ajimati Michael Ayodele Permanent Secretary June, 2020 – May, 2021
Mr. OlusesanAlabi Permanent Secretary May, 2021 – June, 2022
Mrs. Adaran Bosede Mercy Permanent Secretary 13th June – 13th Dec,2022
Mr. Bamidele Simeon Arowosola Esq Permanent Secretary 13th Dec,2022 – 2nd May, 2023
Mrs. Owoeye Mopelola Bamidele Executive Secretary 2nd May, 2023 – 2nd Aug, 2023


Name Designation
Mr. Sunday Adebayo Anigilaje Director, Regional Development and Inter-governmental Affairs
Mrs. Adebanke Abosede Adebanjo Director of Administration and Supplies
Mrs. Omolara Caroline Akiinola-Ojo Director of Finance and Account
Mr. Olajide Sunday Timothy Director of Administration and Supplies

Comments are closed.