Ijero Local Government was created in 1976.It is situated in the North-Western part of Ekiti State with Ijero Ekiti as the headquarter. Other component towns are: Ikoro, Ipoti, Iloro, Odo-Owa, Ijurin, Ara, Epe, Araromi, Oke-oro, Iroko, Ayegunle, Temidire and Ilukuno.

The local government is bordered by Moba Local Government and Ido-Osi Local Government in the East, Irepodun/Ifelodun in the West, Ekiti West in the south and Ila Orangun Local Government Area ( in Osun State) in the North-West.

The Vision and Mission of the Local Government are in line with the (8) points agenda of the State Government. The vision and Mission are as stated below,

  1. Infrastructural Development
  2. Modernizing Agriculture
  3. Education and Rural Development
  4. Health care services
  5. Welfare packages for the aged people
  6. Industrial Development
  7. Tourism & Environmental Sustainability
  8. Governance: To enhance democratic governance to accountability at all levels

Ijero Local Government Area covers an area of 473.5 square kilometers. It has a population of one hundred and thirty four thousand, three hundred and twenty-eighty (134, 328) 1973 census.

The Local Government Area is a largely agrarian population producing cash crops as cocoa, Kolanuts, coffee and timber. Such food crops as yams, cocoyam, cassava, pepper, tomatoes and plantains are also produced in large quantities.


With its unique picturesque natural sceneries, rich cultural attractions, secure, active social environment and promising hospitality (hotel) sector, the local government area is a tourist delight. Then hills, notably Oke-Ayinrin and Oke Ede, trivers and forests remain a pleasant marvel just as the palace, festivals and dances are irrestitible attractions. Mines quarries and sports stadium complement the array of tourist centers.

Commerce & Industry

Ijero Local Government is well known for its vast industrial and commercial potentials. Some are already being harnessed.

The Local Government is rapidly stepping up economic activities, spanning cottage/ small scale industries, mills, produce, banking and commerce. It has seven cottage/small scale industries, including palm oil processing industry (Ikoro), mat weaving industry (Ipoti), adire processing industry (Ikoro), and pot making centre (Ijero). In addition, there are seven sawmills four bakeries, seven petrol stations, six banks and several produce buying and grading societies and stores.

The main functions of Ijero local government council are not different from the ones listed in 1999 constitution These include:

  1. The consideration and the making of recommendations to a state commission on economic planning or any similar body on-
    • The economic development of the state, particularly in so far as the areas of authority of the council and of the state are affected, and
    • Proposal made by the said commission or body.
  2. Collection of rates, radio and television licenses;
  3. Establishment and maintenance of cemeteries, burial ground and homes for the destitute or infirm;
  4. Licensing of bicycles, trucks( other than mechanically propelled trucks), canoes, wheel barrows and carts;
  5. Establishment, maintenance of roads, streets, street lightings, drains and other public highways, parks, gardens, open spaces, or such public facilities as may be prescribed from time to time by the House of Assembly of a State;
  6. Naming of roads and streets and numbering of houses;
  7. Provision and maintenance of public conveniences, sewage and refuse disposal;
  8. Registration of all births, deaths and marriages;
  9. Assessment of privately owned houses or tenements for the purpose of levying such rates as may be prescribed by the House of Assembly of a state; and
  10. Control and regulation of:
    • out – door advertising and hoarding,
    • movement and keeping of pets of all description,
    • shop and kiosks,
    • restaurants, bakeries and other places for s ale of food to the public,
    • laundries, and
    • licensing, regulation and control of the sale of liquor.

The functions of local government council shall include participation of such council in the Government of a State as respects the following matters:

  • the provision and maintenance of primary, adult and vocational education;
  • the development of agriculture and natural resources, other than the exploitation of materials;
  • the provision and maintenance of Health services; and
  • such other functions as may be conferred on a local government council by the House of Assembly of the State.


The local government area remains a major player in sustaining Ekiti State as a fountain of knowledge. This involvement is driven by a vibrant education sector, comprising a state School of Health Technology, a Government Technical College, 15 government secondary schools, 56 primary schools and twelve nursery schools and three pre-nursery schools.


This administration places high premium on the health of its people. To ensure a healthy and vigorous populace, the local government area is served by a network of primary and secondary health institutions.

These include: a General hospital, four Comprehensive Health Centres, two Basic Health Centre; one health centre; 12 maternity centres; and 14 dispensaries.

Tin, Columbite, Tantalite, industrial feldspar, ceramic, clays, kaolin bery(aquamarine), smoky quartz, cassiterite, and gemstone are in large quantities in the local government awaiting exploitation.

Mineral Resources

The local government area is endowed with rich mineral resources, such as tantalite, topaz, quarzite,Kashin, tin, micar, Kaolin, gemstone, tomalines, feldspar, etc. Efforts are being intensified to exploit these minerals on commercial basis. Recently, Federal Govt granted a Canadian firm CME in partnership with Trans Africa Nigeria Ltd licence to exploit tantalite.


Potential investors and industrialists are certainly going to find the local government area conducive in view of remarkable progress in the provision of growth and developmental infrastructure connected by a good network of roads, most of the towns and villages enjoy pipe-borne water from Ero Dam and electricity supply by NEPA. Also, there is a functioning telephone exchange ensuring telecommunication link between the local government area and the rest the state and parts of Nigeria. The local government area also enjoys good television and radio reception from the state/federal broadcasting services and from neighboring state.

Below is a list of chairmen from the inception of the inception of the Local Government till date.

Name Period
Col. Ayo Ariyo 1976 – 1979
Mr. Ogundola 1979 – 1983
Mr Makanjuola
Chief Ajayi
Chief Gabriel Adejuwon 1987 – 1989
Mr. Borode 1987 – 1989
Chief Babajide Ogundipe 1991 – 1993
Chief Mike Fatogbe 1993 – 1996
Mr. O.J. Omotoso 1996
Mr. Rufus Olaifa
Mr. Leye Fagbemi 1998-1999
Pastor Rufus Teniola 1999 – 2000
Deaconess (Mrs) Toun Fatogbe 2002 – 2003
Chief Bola Isola Alarofi 2003 – 2004
Hon. Joseph Afolabi Ayeni 2004 – 2007
Hon. Bode Agbeleye 2007 – 2008
Hon. Osundahunsi 2008 – 2009
Hon. Kumuyi Adewusi 2009 – 2010
Hon. J.O. Atibioke 2010 – till date

Comments are closed.