Ministry of Lands, Housing, Physical, Planning & Urban Development

With a view to enhancing the speedy processing of land matters in the State, the Department of Lands Services has been constituted into a Bureau under the direct supervision of the Governor’s Office. Subsequently, the Urban and Regional Planning Department has been reorganized into three components to enhance service delivery and achievement of results under the new Ministry of Physical, Urban and Regional Planning.

The initial mandate of the Ministry was that of laying the foundation for real operations that will begin to manifest henceforth. It has in this regard, and within the brief period of its reorganization, recorded the following achievements:

The Ministry is divided into Finance and Administration; Planning, Research & Statistics; Urban & Regional Planning; Deeds & Title Documents; and Lands Services Departments.

The Ministry also superintends the activities of two government agencies namely:

  1. Office of the Surveyor General
  2. Capital and Urban Development Authority


To ensure the rational use of the geographical space (the environment) of the State and its resources in a sustainable symbiotic manner.

Our Mission

Implementation of the State Government’s policy on the acquisition and management of Land and landed properties and the issuance/approval of Title documents/instruments on lands aimed at facilitating further transactions on Land/landed properties.

  1. Acquisition/allocation of land for developmental projects by the various levels of governments, corporate organizations and for other uses of interest to the public.
  2. Processing and payment of Compensation to dispossessed owner of properties/land acquired for overriding public interest.
  3. Acquisition and management of landed properties/real estates for various purposes on behalf of the State Government.
  4. Establishment of site and services schemes and provision of infrastructures at Government existing estates (Residential, Commercial or Industrial).
  5. Issuance of Title documents on land e.g. Certificate of Occupancy.
  6. Valuation of properties/enumeration of crops for mortgage and Compensation purposes.
  7. Provision of survey services and Geo-informatics to Government Agencies and the public.
  8. Survey of all government land and demarcation of Intra-and Inter- State boundaries.
  9. Production of maps (Base Maps, administrative Maps, etc.) and other survey documents.
  10. Responsibilities for towns and country planning via:
    • Design of government Layouts
    • Preparation of Master plan and land-use plans.
    • Design and implementation of urban renewal programmes.
    • Approval of survey and building plans.
    • Approval of private layouts.
    • Monitoring and control of physical development.
  11. Processing of application for the Governor’s consent for further transactions on land.
  12. Registration of all titles and other registrable instruments on land.
Name Designation
Otunba Oladiran Adesua Hon. Commissioner
Mr. O. B. Ajayi Permanent Secretary
Eld. Oluremi Olorunleke Special Adviser, Bureau of Lands
Engr. Fakoyede Chairman, Urban Renewal Agency
Mr. Abegunde E.O. Permanent Secretary
Mr. Olukayode Francis-Adunmo Director, Finance and Administration
Alhaji R.F. Ogunlayi Director, Lands Services
Tpl. Falua S Director, Urban and Regional Planning
Mrs. Funke Falodun Director, Deeds and Title Registration
Mr. Bamisaiye E.O Director, Planning, Research and Statistics
Mr. Osalusi F.O. Surveyor-General
Arch. B. Akomolede Secretary, Urban Renewal Agency
Mr. Bamisaiye E.O Director, Planning, Research and Statistics
Name Designation Period
Arch. Ebunlomo Awoyemi Commissioner 2010 –  2013
Chief Olusegun Akinwumi Commissioner Jun 1999 – Apr 2002
Mr. Ipinlaye A. O. Permanent Secretary 1999 – 2000
Mrs. Adenike Adeyemo Permanent Secretary 2000 – 2002
Chief Olu Omole Commissioner Apr 2002 – May 2003
Mr. Fameewo W.O Permanent Secretary 2002 – 2003
Rot. Albert Oluremi Ajewole Commissioner Jun 2003 – Oct 2006
Mr. Bankole Segun O. Permanent Secretary 2003
Mr. Akomolafe V.O.A Permanent Secretary 2003 – 2007
Alhaji (Barr) Yakubu Oladoro Sanni Commissioner Jun 2007 – Oct 2009
Mr. Bello A.O Permanent Secretary 2007 – 2009
Hon. Kayode Babade Commissioner Oct 2009 – Oct 2010
Mr. Amujo P.A Permanent Secretary 2009 – 2010
Mr Kayode Olaosebikan Commissioner Dec 2010 – Dec 2011
Mr. Famubode A.O Permanent Secretary 2010 – 2011
Mr Remi Olorunleke Commissioner 2010 – 2014
Hon. Febisola Adewale Commissioner 2018 – 2020